google newsGoogle News  

Argentina Open

The Argentina Open is a men's tennis tournament, part of the ATP Tour, which takes place in Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is played on the clay courts of the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, in the Palermo district, generally in the month of February.

Previously it was known by various names for sponsorship reasons, among the most used are Copa Telmex, Copa Claro, South American Open and Copa AT&T.

It is played on outdoor clay courts at the 5,500 capacity Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, in the Palermo barrio. Usually held in February, it includes both a men's singles and a men's doubles tournament. Between 1970 and 1989 it was part of the Grand Prix tennis circuit and a Grand Prix Super Series event (1970–71).

The tournament is currently without sponsor, but presented by the City of Buenos Aires. Previously the event was known by different names such as Argentina International Championships or Argentine Championships (1921-1968), South American Open (1969-1974), ATP Buenos Aries (1978-80, 1993-95), Copa AT&T and Copa Telmex. The original tournament was founded as a combined men's and women's championship from 1928 until 1987.

Related articles